Charming Others

Having good people skills is more than just being a good listener. It’s more than just making eye contact with another human being. Good people skills are an asset that one must have in order to become a well-rounded person and push them to a more successful path in life.People skills can also be referenced as social skills and broken down into verbal and nonverbal ways to communicate. If you have good social skills, it showcases you as a respectful and compatible person. In most basic terms, good people skills are yes, being a good listener but it also includes being able to communicate with others, having patience, showing empathy and being able to solve conflicts.

 

fotolia_2261840_XS.jpg

When I was eight years old, I started acting in film and commercials. Overtime, my passion for the art increased and now I am seventeen and have been in multiple feature films and commercials. I am now a senior in high school and I attend Lehigh Valley Charter High School for the Performing Arts where I major in theatre. This is not only my passion or my hobby but it is my long term career choice that I made when I was eight years old. Since I do plan to continue studying the performing arts after high school, good social skills are very important for me to have. It defines my values as a person and ultimately the way I respect another human being. Throughout my life and especially these four years of high school, I have developed a sense of leadership. Being able to star in plays, getting good grades, making high honor roll and participating in school clubs has all led up to that. Leadership is an important quality to have because when you have a vision or a goal you can show others how you will reach that or show that. Other skills such as being insightful and staying open minded has been a quality that I have possessed over time. Due to this art form, I do have to be more open minded about the world and the people in it and recognize my surroundings more often. I also have to stay insightful because if I didn’t I would never be able to grasp on a clear understanding of my passion. I have to show respect and actively listen to others because it shows that I am a considerate and genuine person. If I wasn’t respectful or if I didn’t listen to other people, they wouldn’t want to work with me! That plays right into communication and being able to converse with other people. If I couldn’t openly talk with other people, how could they do the same? So yes, social skills are important to me because they carry out my personality for ultimately, my passion in life! To me, social skills aren’t the way I communicate like it’s defined in the books, it’s who I am as a person and who I am as a person is really important to me before anyone else.

Although I find that having good people skills are very important, this question was brought to importance from Activia Training, a US Scholarships helping out many potential college students prepare for the future. Being rewarded with this $1,500 scholarship would mean a lot to me because living with just my mother who is disabled, money can get pretty tight. We both want whats best for me and my future and I never wanted money to be an obstacle that stands in the way for me to continue my learning and pursuing my career choice of the performing arts. I am so grateful to have this opportunity to apply for this scholarship and I would be even more grateful if I was granted as the winner of it.

If you are interested in this scholarship and what it does, please check out the link below!

https://www.activia.co.uk/scholarship-us

 

Leave a Reply

