All about the 7 Chakras



plural noun: chakras
  1. 1. (in Indian thought) each of the centers of spiritual power in the human body, usually considered to be seven in number.
    Chakras are another way of looking at mental healing. It is all about mind and body and there are seven different chakras that you must keep “balanced” in order to maintain a balanced energy throughout your body. Chakras help keep every part of our body open and aligned. If you don’t keep these balanced, things will start to fall out of place. Mind, body, soul, and spirit are all connected when you keep your chakras aligned, and balanced.

Root Chakra : Muladhara Chakra 


Color: Red
The Muladhara (Root) chakra is the stability of everything of matter. It sits at the lowest part of your body, in your tailbone area. It represents foundation and the sense of feeling grounded, this includes your basic needs for food, money, and shelter. If your chakra isn’t balanced you can experience anxiety disorders, and fears.
Healing: Stomping your bare feet on the ground (feeling grounded) or practicing Kundalini Yoga– or try the Bridge Pose

Sacral Chakra: Svadhisthana Chakra



Color: Orange

The sacral chakra is located right below your belly button in your lower abdomen. It is known as the creative and sexual chakra. The element that corresponds with this chakra is water which means cohesiveness. A balanced sacral chakra is a sense of wellness, pleasure, and joy. If this chakra is unbalanced you may experience emotional issues, sexual dysfunction, and depression.

Healing: Cobra Yoga Pose

Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura Chakra



Color: Yellow

The location of the solar plexus chakra is in the upper abdomen area. The element affiliated with this chakra is the sun, to go with its color! It is a source of personal power, transformation and self worth. It can control metabolism and digestion. If this chakra isn’t balanced you can suffer from low self esteem and control issues.

Healing: Dancing

Heart Chakra: Anahata Chakra


Color: Green

This chakra is located just above the heart. When this chakra is balanced you are open and flowing with love and easy to forgive others. When this chakra is unbalanced it can lead to anger and hatred toward yourself and others.

Healing: Bikram Yoga and LOVE.

Throat Chakra: Vishuddha Chakra


Color: Blue

This chakra is located directly in the throat. When it is balanced you are to speak, listen, and express yourself from a higher form of communication. It is truly another way of saying speak your inner truth!

Healing: Shoulder stand, singing, or chanting.

Third Eye Chakra: Ajna Chakra



Color: Indigo

This chakra is located right between your eyes, acting as a “third eye”. It can enable telepathy, lucid dreaming, and expanded imagination. You have five senses, the third eye is like your sixth sense.

Healing: Child’s pose or eye exercises

Crown Chakra: Sahaswara Chakra



Color: Violet

This chakra is located at the very top of our head. It is known as the thousand petal lotus chakra. It is a way to connect to the highest point of ourself and everyone around us. When it is aligned, you are pure consciousness.

Healing: Cardio or Meditation


Hope this helped,




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s