All about the 7 Chakras



plural noun: chakras
  1. 1. (in Indian thought) each of the centers of spiritual power in the human body, usually considered to be seven in number.
    Chakras are another way of looking at mental healing. It is all about mind and body and there are seven different chakras that you must keep “balanced” in order to maintain a balanced energy throughout your body. Chakras help keep every part of our body open and aligned. If you don’t keep these balanced, things will start to fall out of place. Mind, body, soul, and spirit are all connected when you keep your chakras aligned, and balanced.

Root Chakra : Muladhara Chakra 


Color: Red
The Muladhara (Root) chakra is the stability of everything of matter. It sits at the lowest part of your body, in your tailbone area. It represents foundation and the sense of feeling grounded, this includes your basic needs for food, money, and shelter. If your chakra isn’t balanced you can experience anxiety disorders, and fears.
Healing: Stomping your bare feet on the ground (feeling grounded) or practicing Kundalini Yoga– or try the Bridge Pose

Sacral Chakra: Svadhisthana Chakra



Color: Orange

The sacral chakra is located right below your belly button in your lower abdomen. It is known as the creative and sexual chakra. The element that corresponds with this chakra is water which means cohesiveness. A balanced sacral chakra is a sense of wellness, pleasure, and joy. If this chakra is unbalanced you may experience emotional issues, sexual dysfunction, and depression.

Healing: Cobra Yoga Pose

Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura Chakra



Color: Yellow

The location of the solar plexus chakra is in the upper abdomen area. The element affiliated with this chakra is the sun, to go with its color! It is a source of personal power, transformation and self worth. It can control metabolism and digestion. If this chakra isn’t balanced you can suffer from low self esteem and control issues.

Healing: Dancing

Heart Chakra: Anahata Chakra


Color: Green

This chakra is located just above the heart. When this chakra is balanced you are open and flowing with love and easy to forgive others. When this chakra is unbalanced it can lead to anger and hatred toward yourself and others.

Healing: Bikram Yoga and LOVE.

Throat Chakra: Vishuddha Chakra


Color: Blue

This chakra is located directly in the throat. When it is balanced you are to speak, listen, and express yourself from a higher form of communication. It is truly another way of saying speak your inner truth!

Healing: Shoulder stand, singing, or chanting.

Third Eye Chakra: Ajna Chakra



Color: Indigo

This chakra is located right between your eyes, acting as a “third eye”. It can enable telepathy, lucid dreaming, and expanded imagination. You have five senses, the third eye is like your sixth sense.

Healing: Child’s pose or eye exercises

Crown Chakra: Sahaswara Chakra



Color: Violet

This chakra is located at the very top of our head. It is known as the thousand petal lotus chakra. It is a way to connect to the highest point of ourself and everyone around us. When it is aligned, you are pure consciousness.

Healing: Cardio or Meditation


Hope this helped,




Veganism for Beginners: Weight Loss?

When I hear people want to go vegan…there are multiple reasons they might want to do so. Reasons such as wanting to lose weight, wanting to help the earth or wanting to save the animals.

When I decided to go vegan I decided to switch for all of those reasons. I should start off by saying if you’re looking to lose weight veganism is not going to guarantee that. It’ll make you healthier for sure, but it all depends on what you put into your body still. It’ll definitely make you less prone to certain diseases, cancers, etc out there. But it’s a lifestyle rather than a diet. They say you can eat unlimited and not have to worry about calories. In no way am I a nutritionist or a doctor but I believe that that is only according to the amount of fruits and veggies you eat–which basically is unlimited. If you are looking to lose weight, avoid white carbs– pasta, chips, potatoes, etc. limit to maybe once a day. Fill your plate up with more greens, veggies and fruits. The more whole foods the better. So right now I have a plant based protein shake which contains:

Orgain chocolate protein powder

A whole banana


Chia seeds


PB2 powder

(Which I have for breakfast and dinner) — sometimes I will have a bowl of roasted veggies for dinner instead.

For lunch, I will either have a big salad or a big bowl of fruit depending on what I am craving (Tip: fruit fills all of your sweet cravings!!)

If I get hungry throughout the day– for a snack I’ll snack on fruit! But I don’t really get hungry on this diet due to the protein shakes and amount of fiber I have. I’ve been doing this for two weeks with no exercise except walking and I’ve lost 12 pounds 🙂

If you ARENT looking to lose weight, I used to have a protein shake for breakfast ( it is SO important to get 46g-50g of protein a day) and make sure to take supplements ( B-12, iron, vitamin d, zinc, biotin—make sure it contains no gelatin) or sometimes I would have natures organic flax seed cereal which you can find in health food section at Wegmans with sweetened almond milk which is so yummy or seeded bread with jelly and banana slices and granola on top or a fruit bowl! Lunch would be a veggie wrap or hummus and chips with fruit and dinner would be a vegan recipe (Pinterest is super helpful) I found on Pinterest or a frozen dinner from Wegmans or trader joes from their health food/vegan isle.

Keeping you posted!

Zoe ❤ xx